Home Page

Interactive Bar

Google Services






Welcome to our Governors’ section.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

The Governing body at John T. Rice Infant and Nursery School work incredibly hard to support and challenge the school's leadership team. This support helped to secure a Good from OFSTED in 2018 and provides a healthy level of challenge to move the school forward.

Our governing body is made up of 8 members:

1 headteacher, 1 staff governor, 2 parent governors, 3 co-opted governors and 1 LA governor. There is a chair and vice chair and a headteacher.



Meet the Governing body!




Meet our Governors


Miss Jane Avison (Co-opted Governor)


Appointed - 11.01.2021 (Reappointed January 2023)

Term of office - 2 years


Strategic development and Pupil committee member vice chair.

Responsible for complaints, wellbeing website & HT appraisal

I have been a governor with John T Rice since 2018 and Chair since January 2021 and really enjoy working closely with the school.

I live in the local area and decided to become a governor to expand on my skills and learn about a new sector. I am currently a Manager for Talent Acquisition for a large information services and technology company in Nottingham and feel that I bring skills from my career to the school as well as the school teaching me in return! 

Having taken a slightly unorthodox approach to my career, I genuinely believe that all children should receive equal opportunities and encouragement to develop no matter what the circumstance. Children begin to develop the skills that they will take forward into their careers at such an early age, and so I am really passionate about equal opportunities and diversity. Wellbeing is also close to my heart and I am a supporter of equipping children with the life skills to succeed both practically but also mentally and emotionally.

In my personal time I enjoy travelling, particularly exploring new cities! During the lockdown period I also took up painting as a new hobby.

You are welcome to contact me any time regarding any school related matters. ‘



Miss Ruth Palmer (Local Authority Governor)


Appointed - 11.01.2021 (Reappointed January 2023)

Term of office - 2 years


Finance and Personnel vice chair  & Strategic development and Pupil committee chair 

Responsibility for safeguarding, phonics &  HT appraisal

Ruth has always had an interest in Education and is a trained teacher. She currently works for multi academy trust in their governor services and has a background in budgets, buying and selling. 

Ms Melissa Stevenson (Co-opted Governor)


Appointed - 26.04.2021

Term of office - 4 years


Finance and Personnel committee member 

Responsibility - SEND

Melissa is an assistant Head at Garibaldi school and has an interest in supporting the younger years so when an opportunity arose for a co-opted governor at John T. Rice she jumped at the chance.



Mrs Shelley Bennett (Head Teacher)




Mrs Bennett joined the school in April 2018 as the Headteacher and it is her first Headship. She worked as a Deputy Head teacher at Crescent Primary School in Mansfield for 7 years prior to taking up Headship. She is passionate about learning and relishes the opportunity to serve the children, parents and staff at John T. Rice Infant school.  During the weekends and holidays, Mrs Bennett loves walking her chocolate Labrador and spending valuable time with her family. Together with that, her hobbies include collecting pets (much to her husbands dismay!), horse riding, reading and trying to keep fit!


Mrs Joanne Smith (Staff Governor)

Appointed 12.05.2022

Term of office - 4 years

Finance and personnel committee member and strategic development & pupil committee member.

Joanne is the Deputy Head at school and leads and manages Key Stage 1. Joanne has responsibility for leading the curriculum. She lives at home with her husband and son and chocolate labrador!


 Miss Keeley Hallows (Parent Governor)

Appointed 28.06.2021

Term of office - 4 years

Strategic development & pupil committee member.

Responsibility - Health and safety & PE sport funding

Keeley is a parent of  a child in Year 1 and has been active in previous years on the school's PTA. 


 Darren Sayer (Co-opted Governor) 

Appointed 12.06.2023

Term of office - 4 years

Finance and personnel committee member and strategic development & pupil committee member. 

Responsibility - 

Darren has a working history in the Armed forces, prison service & PALS service. He has recently been concentrating upon building a bungalow and has links to the building trade. He has a strong interest in Health and safety and volunteering in his local community. 


Mrs Molly Elliott-Reynolds (Parent governor) 

Appointed 19.04.2022

Term of office - 4 years

Finance and personnel committee chair

Molly is a parent of a child in Foundation stage 2. She works in a local secondary school as a science teacher and has a strong interest in schools, how they are developed and transition. 


Governor constitution and declarations

Governors who have stepped down or their term of office has ended

Attendance at FGB 2022-2023

Finance and personnel committee & Strategic Development and Pupils Committee attendance

Please see Decision planner for remit of the strategic development and pupils committee - see bottom of page

Governors' Year End Financial Statement 2022 - 2023

Information for Governors